Surrender to Nitai every day

Surrender to Nitai every day

This is a modified offering of oneself and one’s activities to the Lord – karma-samarpaṇa from the Deity Worship. I accepted this ‘formula’ of surrender to be the most complete, as it covers ALL activites and ALL states of mind at ALL times. This is what I do as the first thing when I open my eyes in the morning. Previously, I used to offer myself to Kṛṣṇa every day like this. When I found out from my Gurudeva, Bhaktiratna Sadhu Swami, that every-thing comes from and through Lord Nityananda, I decided to start offering myself to Him instead, not only because of that but because Lord Nitai doesn’t consider any offense which is not the case with Kṛṣṇa. I knew that I offered Kṛṣṇa many many of my offenses along with my activities.

Regarding this, Śrīla Prabhupāda said in his purport to SB 7.5.23-24 that we should do the offering first thing in the morning, before we start the devotional service. He said: “The real devotee, however, first offers his surrender to Kṛṣṇa with his body, mind and words and then uses his body, mind and words for the service of Kṛṣṇa as Kṛṣṇa desires.

Here is the purport:
“After performing sacrifices, sometimes a person engaged in fruitive activity customarily offers the results to Viṣṇu. But here it is said, bhagavaty addhā: one must DIRECTLY OFFER EVERYTHING to Viṣṇu. This is called sannyāsa (not merely nyāsa). A tridaṇḍi-sannyāsī carries three daṇḍas, signifying kaya-mano-vākya—body, mind and words. All of these should be offered to Viṣṇu, and THEN one can BEGIN devotional service. Fruitive workers first perform some pious activities and then formally or officially offer the results to Viṣṇu. The real devotee, however, first offers his surrender to Kṛṣṇa with his body, mind and words and then uses his body, mind and words for the service of Kṛṣṇa as Kṛṣṇa desires.” [Śrīmad Bhāgavatam 7.5.23-24, Purport]

One thought on “Surrender to Nitai every day

  1. Pingback: Learning Bhakti Gyan By Practical Experiences of devotee | Nitai Bhakti

Leave a comment